New Facebook Feature Allows You to Pick Who Manages Your Account After You Die
Facebook has announced a ‘Legacy Contact’ feature for its social network, signifying a person can be entitled full control to the user’s account after his death. The addition of this new feature allows a user to take control of his legacy contact, who will be able to mange their account when he/she dies.
The Legacy Contact can post on your Timeline, update your profile picture, respond to friend requests, though won’t be allowed to access your messages. They can also choose to delete the account permanently from Facebook. In addition, the Legacy Contact will be allowed to take control of someone’s account, only after they inform Facebook about the concerned user’s death.
Earlier, Facebook had offered something similar with the memorialized account feature, though did not allow family or friends of the deceased user to manage their account.
Here’s how you can activate the Legacy Contact feature on Facebook – Go to Settings, then Security and click on Legacy Contact.
You’ll be allowed to further customise the kind of access you want to give your legacy contact, and even contact them to let them know you chose them. In an event that an account remains active, a “Remembering” mention will be added above the deceased person’s name on Facebook.