Facebook will delete your embarrassing photos forever
Facebook has confirmed that users who delete images from their accounts can now be assured that the files are permanently erased.
Until recently, embarrassing or inappropriate pictures erased from a Facebook account would in fact remain stored on the company’s servers and so anyone who had a direct link could still view them.
The news may come as some relief to young people in the throws of trying get a job or impress a new employer, knowing that many companies today show an interest in the social network accounts of their staff.
Pictures now erased by an account user will be permanently wiped from the system within 14 days, but with a potential maximum delay of 30 days. They will be immediately removed from view on a user’s account from the moment they delete the picture