CompareComparing...

Micromax Andro A70 Review

Now Reading
Micromax Andro A70 Review

Browse This Page

The Micromax Andro A70 was one of the most anticipated phones of this quarter, especially in the sub Rs. 8000 bracket. To be honest, at first we thought of it as just a minor upgrade to the existing Andro A60. But as we reviewed this little marvel we began so see a major change in its operation. Lets see why the Andro A70 is our pick for the price range.

Build Quality and Design

Reminiscent of the Nexus One’s design, the Micromax Andro A70 is built with sturdy plastics. Nice curvaceous ends make it an extremely attractive design, and very comfortable to hold in the hand. The screen on the front is tough and provides the extra protection required for a touch phone of this nature. The buttons are tactile and easy to use, the overall standard of construction is quite impressive.

The front of the display is also glass and not plastic unlike its predecessor, Which makes the overall build of the device impressive. The phone is sturdy and does not make rattling noises even when tossed around.

 

Hardware 

  •   Android 2.2 (Froyo)
  •   Camera Primary 5.0 MP Secondary – VGA
  •   600MHz Processor
  •   3.2 inch Multi Touch Capacitive Screen
  •   Mi – apps –  application store by Micromax
  •  Full Android Market
  •   WCDMA 2100 MHz
  •   HSDPA 7.2 Mbps
  •   Mi-Fi Pocket Wireless Internet
  •   GPS             
  •   Wi-Fi 802.11 b/g
  •   Battery 1450mAh
  •   Proximity Sensor
  •   Gravity Sensor

Camera and Multimedia

A surprisingly interesting 5 MP camera with autofocus that delivers exceptionally good pictures. The camera displays great skill when it comes to auto-focus and cannot be tackled down by any other device in this price range. Although colors appear washed out at first but a little playing around with the settings gives a good picture.

Video on the other hand is simply OK, you cannot expect much from the VGA video capability. A simple tweak, by changing the video quality settings to custom in the camera we were able to get VGA video. If you leave the video quality to high, it captures a much lower resolution video. A sample of the video can be seen in the videos below.

The Front facing camera, is a simple VGA camera and can be used for nothing but clicking self portraits and video. We tried several times to initiate a camera response from Skype /fring etc, but failed to do so.

The screen of the Andro A70 is great for watching videos and browsing the internet. It is also a capacitive 2 point multitouch screen, so pinch to zoom works great and with the 3.2 inch 320x480px screen text is crisp and easily read. 

Speakers are loud and clear when it comes to watching videos or simply listening to music. Overall multimedia experience was satisfactory and a lot more than you can expect from a device which costs only 7500 Rs.

Phone and Messaging

No complaints here, the phone call capability was excellent , little or no dropped calls, clear speaker and earpiece. the microphone also pics up sound aptly and delivers to the other side. One thing with mentioning is the number of connection errors faced in process of dialing a number were far more than any other device tested.

Messaging and emailing has also improved vastly over the previous A60 thanks to the inclusion of the capacitive screen. This makes the device almost brilliant, keyboard is nice and spread out and easy to type on even with relatively large fingers. The keyboard can also be easily replaced with customizable keyboards from the Marketplace, including Better Keyboard. Swype however does not work with the Andro A70.

 

Internet and Portable Hotspot

This section is dedicated to connectivity and utilization of the Internet, Data and WiFi. 
The A70 has a very weak WiFi antenna, and mostly requires you to be relatively close to the router to get a decent signal. This was kind of a let down especially after the excellent WiFi antenna on the Andro A60.

The Portable Hotspot also fails throughout the board, dropping WiFi and asking for reactivations several times.

Apart from the above, browsing works great on the A70 especially 3G networks perform as good as high end phones.

Battery Life

We were quite impressed with the battery life on the A70, with over 5 hours of talk time, and a good 7-8 of internet usage, upto 3 days of standby, make it an excellent device in terms of battery life. But with Android as an OS, you never know what app you install, suddenly battery life is critically lower than before. Overall great battery , be sure to inspect your apps if you face battery issues.

Conclusion

While its an extremely awesome device for its price, it definitely has its ups and its down . With limited WiFi range and useless front camera this device lacks little and gives more. Good things include impressive build quality, a great photo camera, Android 2.2, wifi hotspot, easily root-able ( with possibility of custom rome). This device is a little understated by the company. The UI is much improved and a launcher from the market like ADW launcher can make this device a gem with pinch home screens, and smooth scrolling. 

The Micromax Andro A70 is a good package for someone who wants to enter the Android ecosystem, or even a good upgrade for an A60 user. This device is also an excellent secondary device for a expensive smartphone. 

We say go for it!

[xrr rating=3.5/5 label=”We Rate it: ” imageset=shiny_yellow_star display_as=fraction_stars]

Video Sample

Unboxing Video

Full Review

Image Gallery

Developing……

 UPDATE: 

We got news from Micromax for Gingerbread and Video Calls : Read Here

iG Test Labs

What's your reaction?
Awesome
0%
Epic
0%
Like
I Want This
0%
Meh
0%
About The Author
Bharat Nagpal
Founder and Chief Editor of iGyaan. Bharat likes to keep on top of technology ! Follow Him on Google Plus : Google+
141 Comments
Leave a response
  • February 18, 2012 at 4:57 am

    This is really best phone in the price range. Only Samsung galaxy Y giving  competition to this phone. If micromax will give support to 2.3 than it will good hit in the market.

  • rahul
    December 30, 2011 at 4:20 pm

    gpu-adreno 200 or adreno 205?

  • Nitinsharma
    December 6, 2011 at 11:15 pm

    can anyone tell me how i connect my micromax a70 with wifi connection because i doesnt found where i will give proxy and port

  • Sanjay Jumde
    November 29, 2011 at 8:19 pm

    Does the Micromax A70 work with a normal SIM card – or does it use CDMA technology with no SIM? If CDMA, how do I use it with multiple SIMs (e.g. while traveling to another country)? 

  • Ashu
    November 27, 2011 at 5:11 pm

    please can any1 teel dat if i root my a70 using root from 2.2.1 to 2.2.3 den will dos it work
    please can any tell me

  • Nilesh
    November 23, 2011 at 12:34 pm

    Got  MMx A70 on 16-Nov.  Here is the feedback after using it for a week.
    1st Impression:
    * Great design & looks
    * Light weight
    * Bright Screen

    Pros:
    * Reasonably fast performance
    * 5 home screens
    * Bundled with useful apps
    * Good voice call quality (steady position)
    * 2G works perfect, not yet tested on 3G
    * Battery OK

    Cons:
    = Weak Wi-fi connectivity
    = Audio disturbs while moving / walking – need to be steady till you finish the call
    = Very Poor FM Radio quality
    = Poor audio quality even for mp3 (even I tried with couple of other good headsets )
    = Headset is of very cheap quality
    = 5MP Camera not even average
    = Screen becomes sluggish if u set live wallpaper
    = For many apps/products device is not listed
    = No magnetometer for compass

    Conclusion:
    Good value for money, BUT one should think of spending more 1000 rupees and go for dell/acer/lg/samsung models.  Hopefully a music love would definitely not prefer this phone.

    Best luck,
    Nilesh

  • Tarun
    November 18, 2011 at 6:53 am

    please review on lg optimus net p690

  • Prijilsasi
    November 13, 2011 at 3:59 pm

    can we use the front cam for 3g calling????????????

  • Ankurkumar
    November 13, 2011 at 3:50 pm

    is there any update for micromax a70 (like android 2.3.4) ?

  • Paraminbox
    November 11, 2011 at 3:13 pm

    micromax a70 pc suit …. pls suggest for download of this pc suit.

    Paramjeet 

  • Gaurav Saini
    November 10, 2011 at 7:29 pm

    this device is upgrade-able to android 2.3 or not?

  • Tangudu Vamshi
    November 10, 2011 at 7:30 am

    hai,
    i want to know whether, do we have any free pc sync softwares like the ovi suite for nokia , for the android low end phones like micromax A70 ,and will this phone support such apps

  • Ram@Cool
    November 9, 2011 at 5:17 pm

    has micromax provided android 2.3 update for micromax a70

    • Paraminbox
      November 11, 2011 at 3:15 pm

      hey Ram

      Have u the Pc suit for Micromax A70

      Pls send me the link or send me the software for the same.

      ASAP
      on my email id- paraminbox @gmail:disqus .com

      paramjeet

  • Anshullrocks
    November 8, 2011 at 2:01 pm

    please review karbonn a1

  • Daniel
    November 7, 2011 at 10:05 pm

    SPICE MI 350 seems to be better than Micromax A70……. is that true ???

  • Bichey
    November 7, 2011 at 10:03 pm

    pls review on spice mi 350

    Rgds,
    Bichey

  • MDICARANCHI
    November 1, 2011 at 7:19 pm

    Perhaps I was among the first users of the set. This is an awesome set considering the performance vis a vis price tag. Yes Speaker is a problem as provided on the back side, and it does not support video calling although has got a front camera.

    After around 70 days of use now facing great difficulties in charging and set is currently with the service centre.. Battery is Ok, but most of the time after connecting to charger or even at the USB, either its not charging or showing false charge.. If any user has the same problem please report, trying to understand if its set specific. 

  • Buntymehra
    October 24, 2011 at 2:27 pm

    please sir i want want karbonn A1 full review …………

  • Nbdsocialnetwork
    October 23, 2011 at 8:47 pm

    is the sar vaue too high for this phone? any hazzards??

  • Prashantloveguru143
    October 23, 2011 at 4:42 pm

    hey friend i m planning 2 buy this phone….so plz help me…..
    1) hows d picture quality captured by %MP camera???

    2)Can we connect this phone 2 pc 2 use internet??? what is speed we realized with 3g on pc??

    3)is AVI videos working??

    4) is video calling is working???

    plz reply early as possible…..

  • Varun
    October 23, 2011 at 3:46 pm

    bought the phone 2 days back. . .

    and i am pretty satisfied wid it 
    its an awesome phone at this pricePROS:1.display clarity is good
    2.battery life (listening to an hour of music on headphones drains 8% battery only)3.works smooth, no lags
    4.touchscreen is sensitive5.volume output is gud
    6.secondary cam
    7.pinch to zoom and browser work well (also opera mini is pre installed)8.watching videos and movies is a really gud experience on this phone 
    9.build quality10.last but not the least THE PRICECONS:
    1.camera quality is not up to the mark2.headphones are not gud, obviously u can change them3.edge is not supported4.weak wifi antenna overall, in short i would say dis the best android u can get at this price.

  • Shreyansh2495
    October 19, 2011 at 2:50 pm

    did nfs shift, gangster miami, assasins creed altaire chronicle, asphalt 5 hd, works on this device, and what about its gpu say, i dont know only about its gpu, reply fast
    or message me on shreyansh2495@yahoo.in………………………………..

  • Abhisek
    October 16, 2011 at 10:16 am

    Should I go for Samsung Galaxy Y or Micromax Andro A70 or Dell XCD??? also can we have Samsung Galaxy Y review

    • Revanth P
      October 16, 2011 at 4:29 pm

      Consider Dell XCD35 and Samsung galaxy Y

      Y is Rs1400 cheaper than XCD
      Y has 832MHZ Processor
      Dell has better screen and camera
      Y has better android version and processor
      So decide yourself
      There are many reviews for both Dell XCD35 and Samsung Galaxy Y 

      • vinod
        October 26, 2011 at 11:59 am

        Dell XCD35 
        480 x 800 pixels, 3.5 inches (~267 ppi pixel density) —> More android games are available for this resolution..The image and text looks crispier.It is best for watching movies and videos!!!!Samsung Galaxy Y
        240 x 320 pixels, 3.0 inches (~133 ppi pixel density) —-> Only few android games are available. Usually u r nt going to play games always…When u take this phone outdoor u will suffer a lot text wont be visible!!

        I suggest u to go to Dell XCD35

  • Rohith
    October 14, 2011 at 10:47 pm

    Micromax A70 Gingerbread Upgrade Please…….Waiting here…….

  • Russell Dias98
    October 14, 2011 at 6:37 pm

    is a70 or spice mi 310 better in motion sensor gaming

  • Gudupuramesh
    October 13, 2011 at 12:03 pm

    can any one installed adobe flash player on a70 will it work

  • Russell Dias98
    October 12, 2011 at 7:24 pm

    does it have voice secrch?

  • Jainam Mehta
    October 12, 2011 at 9:28 am

    Hey revanth P ! I want to buy a touch smartphone within 8000Rs. range with good camera, social networking ability, speedy surfing, download , supporting games & apps, andro 2.2
    Which one will u suggest ? Is micro A70 is good to go with ? any other option… ?

    • Caldera911
      October 12, 2011 at 3:56 pm

      In A70, Camera does the job. 5 MP gives good pictures at day time. but not good in low light / night times. video is not good. We can take with VGA (640X480) clarity but with 15 FPS speed its really not good. But A70 is awesome, value for money in all other factors.

  • Russell Dias98
    October 10, 2011 at 11:17 am

    Does it have a inbuilt compass for the GPS??

    • Revanth P
      October 10, 2011 at 11:28 am

      No the micromax A70 doesn`t have inbuilt Digital Compass for GPS Navigation(Checkout Samsung galaxy Y it has been released with Android2.3 & 832MHZ Processor @7000)

    • Caldera911
      October 12, 2011 at 3:57 pm

      No inbuilt compass. Its not required for GPS. For GPS you need a chip which can communicate to satellite to get the co-ordinates and it is there in this mobile.

  • Revanth P
    October 3, 2011 at 12:49 pm

    Micromax A70 doesn`t have inbuilt Digital Compass for GPS Navigation

  • Rohith
    October 3, 2011 at 11:12 am

    The camera of A70 has written 5px on it bt have jus 2px clarity….is it true..?Help me with this….

    • Revanth P
      October 3, 2011 at 12:50 pm

      Use 360 camera free/paid version ; it has plenty of features, 
      like focus modes, scene modes, u will get additional modes from marketU will be overflowing with features! 
      5 MP camera with autofocus that delivers exceptionally good pictures. The camera displays great skill when it comes to auto-focus and cannot be tackled down by any other device in this price range.

    • Xtremelovers
      October 11, 2011 at 11:31 pm

      It’s damn true…..the phone’s excellent….but cam clearity is very low…

  • prakash
    October 1, 2011 at 1:05 pm

    bought this phone in last week, it good at its price… facing one prob,
    apps/games are getting installed in phone memory.. can any one suggest how to install apps/games on sdcard? plz rply….

    • Rahul ES
      October 2, 2011 at 10:36 am

      You will have to root the phone and use Apps2SD (it is an app , can be downloaded from market). Use z4root (from xda-developers forums) to root the phone. 

    • Caldera911
      October 12, 2011 at 4:01 pm

      no need to root. Just install Apps2SD (free) from market and you are good to move the apps to SD card. not all apps can be moved but most of them can be.

  • Rohith
    September 30, 2011 at 12:32 pm

    Hello Guys…I am yet to but this phone…..Is it true what Ravindra said about the camera……?
    Please help me……….Is it good phone to buy…? If not, suggest me another phone within the price range of 8K-9K with Android 2.2 or higher…..Thanks in advance……

    • Revanth P
      September 30, 2011 at 4:13 pm

      Best option: Lg Optimus One: Low SAR value, Android 2.3 gingerbread, 512MB RAM, LG trademark etc……….

      • Rohith
        October 1, 2011 at 1:22 am

        It is 10k dude…….I need within in 8k-9k……

        • Revanth P
          October 1, 2011 at 7:23 pm

          Dell xcd35                        Rs 8700 ( Recommended if have money; Beautiful screen;WVGA)
          Samsung Galaxy POP   Rs 7700 ( Compact and for casual use with QVGA screen )  
          Spice MI 310                   Rs 6990 ( Pathetic battery backup: need to charge 2 times a day) 
          Huawei ideos X2            Rs 7500 (not recommended)

          Overall Micromax A70 is good except SAR value. It has front camera for VOIP video calls via Fring!!

          SAR doesn’t matter as many purchase it without thinking!!We spoil our health in many ways like drinking etc, so this doesn’t affect !!

          All the phones listed above have Android 2.2 and none have hope of Gingerbread/Android 2.3
          So Go For IT :D

        • Rohith
          October 1, 2011 at 10:23 pm

          Thank u Buddy…..

  • Shekharmishra007
    September 30, 2011 at 12:53 am

    how to use youtube and which app to download for it … i tried but could play any youtube videos…on my a70 plz help … i got flash player also installed 10.1

    • Revanth P
      October 3, 2011 at 12:46 pm

      Search ” Youtube ” in in android market and download the youtube application
      U will be able to play any youtube video right from the browser!
      Even in HQ; but u need high bandwidth connection like HSDPA (3G) for smooth playback in HQ
      Ur question is solved

  • Ravindra
    September 28, 2011 at 12:10 pm

    Thanks for the Review, but a few things you missed to tell all viewers, its definately a good phone, but you have not informed viewers that it has only 256K colors screen, the front camera works on Yahoo messenger for video calling… but fails in voice calling, as it has  a bug it when you call aperson on yahoo messenger, the ring keeps ringing, though we can both speak, the ring keeps ringing. Also in  Video Call we can use both front or back camera, the back camera really works nice on video calls. I used my home wifi for testing this. The camera though you said its very good, i felt it very BAD quality, as the camera does not seem to be a 5MP camera, it seems that this is a 2 MP camera interpolated to 5 MP…. as when u try to pinch zoom the image, it shows you good amount of pixellation. My reliance Coolpad phones 2 MP camera is far better then this 5 MP camera…. i use both phones, but i see this camera useless for photography. Video calling is ok.  Rest the device works fine. battery is good. Sound is loud but not like other Micromax phones.  Phone is light weight, slim, grip is good, touch is smooth, heaphones are ok, i use bluetooth stereo headset tough, but using it does drain the baterry a bit faster… thats ok, as i use wifi and bluetooh together, to enjoy the World radio.

    • Rahul ES
      October 2, 2011 at 10:42 am

      Well, the camera inorder to perform better will need ample lighting. Also, maybe a few tweaks perhaps. Try playing with the settings a bit….

      • Revanth P
        October 3, 2011 at 12:36 pm

        Use 360 camera free/paid version ; it has plenty of features, like focus modes, scene modes, u will get additional modes from market
        U will be overflowing with features!

    • Revanth P
      October 3, 2011 at 12:36 pm

      Use 360 camera free/paid version ; it has plenty of features,
      like focus modes, scene modes, u will get additional modes from marketU will be overflowing with features!

  • Kstvn Gri
    September 28, 2011 at 11:58 am

    is it upgradable to gingerbread????
    plzz give an answer………….

  • Nasruddin Shaikh
    September 27, 2011 at 5:54 pm

    Can i access the internet in my computer connecting with this device ?
    can Micromax gives the PC suit with Micromax A70 ?

  • Mastermind1024
    September 25, 2011 at 7:18 pm

    You mentioned in your full depth review video that you were not able to install Swype on several occasions but I have successfully installed swype on 1st occasion n currently using it n yes it’s working nicely on this device…

  • Manoj
    September 25, 2011 at 12:47 pm

    does this phone have flash player???

  • Rishav
    September 25, 2011 at 12:15 pm

    sir please can you review the video of karboon a1

  • DrPK SADANANDAN
    September 25, 2011 at 11:10 am

    Among Micromax Andro A70 and Spice MI 310 which one is the good pick ?

  • Pan81
    September 24, 2011 at 7:45 pm

    hi, can u plz tell me which is better one.. dell xcd35 or micromax a70?? or any other new phone coming this or next month in budget  7k-9k..

    thx

  • cool1001
    September 20, 2011 at 8:30 pm

    does micromax a70 support HD games

  • Utkarsh_c
    September 20, 2011 at 6:41 pm

    is it worth the price
    ??

  • Abhisek Das
    September 19, 2011 at 9:15 pm

    What about upgrading to Gingerbread??

  • akhilat121
    September 18, 2011 at 3:58 pm

    i want a smart phone under 10k 
    my feature s are 
    1. high end games like  nfs shift etc
    2. android 2.2
    3. gud internet connection and 
    4. camera 3 – 5 mp
    plzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz help me

    • Gopikrishna
      September 19, 2011 at 7:34 am

      If you want a phone under 10K then go for this phone ie Andro A70 or Go for LG Optimus One . You could even consider buying Spice MI-310

  • Kanmalar
    September 17, 2011 at 10:40 pm

    Hello, 
    I would like to use this phone as a wifi hotspot to connect my IPAD (1) to the internet. The review says that Portable Hotspot is not working properly but I am not sure if it is about receiving the wifi signals or transmitting. Could you please make it clear what “Portable Hotspot” means.

    • Gopikrishna
      September 18, 2011 at 7:18 am

      As per my known as i per my usage experience this do support Wi-Fi Hotspot function and works Fine.

    • Mastermind1024
      September 25, 2011 at 7:22 pm

      Its wifi hotspot is working fine.I have no complain till now…Portable Hotspot means u can connect ur laptop to the wifi of the phone to use its internet…in literal meaning its a portable wifi router….

  • Vineet
    September 17, 2011 at 7:41 pm

    Bought 2 of these phones about a month ago and both have been working fine except 1 minor irritant…
    For SMS’s received from senders who are not in the contacts list, the msg headers never match the actual SMS. This is happening on both phones.
    SMS’s received on these sims on other heandsets have no such problems.
    Talked to micromax customer care. They said it appears to be a software problem and I would need to take the phone to an authorised service centre.

    Anyone else having this problem on their phones? Anyone have a solution which doesn’t involve a vist to a service centre?

    Thanks

    • Gopikrishna
      September 18, 2011 at 7:17 am

      Would you make it a bit more clear ? 

      • Vineet
        September 18, 2011 at 9:52 am

        To give you an example…

        A sms received with the header showing in msg list as “LM-GrndMela”, when opened is actually from “TD-OBC BANK” ( a bank alert)…then another sms received with the same header showing in msg list (LM-GrndMela), gets threaded on to the first one, but when opened is actually from “LM-RksMatri”, a  different sender from the first one. 

        The sms headers in the summary msg list do not match the actual sms senders.

        This is happening with senders who are in my contacts list.

        Hope you now understand the problem and can help.

        Thanks 

        • Nonarashjain
          September 20, 2011 at 5:39 pm

          this could be a problem with android phone… I have Samsung Galaxy TAB… and it shows the same problem….. 

        • Gopikrishna
          September 23, 2011 at 10:27 am

          This is the problem of the Version of Android which MicromaX uses and there will be some patches coming up soon and till that the only way will have to wait and keep complaining to MicromaX for an update…

    • Mastermind1024
      September 25, 2011 at 7:24 pm

      Yes i m having the same problem with this device n yes its a software problem n no other option then to go to service center…

  • Gopikrishna
    September 17, 2011 at 7:25 am

    Hows it Going Guys ?
    I am on this reply aiming to solve most of your doubts and query which you have posted below .

    @c8b9889ce2d4962c6eb9add9ebb84118:disqus  On the basis 0f Hardware and uptodate features A70 stands way better than Galaxy POP as A70 includes a 5MP AF Camera , A front facing VGA Camera and lots more . So A70 is way better on features  but PoP is better with samsung’s Customer Care…

    @bc8420ca00aef4b952be467a7e3efa55:disqus  Micro SD

    @9f5a3344637d96043f2f1fbeee511abe:disqus  As said Above…

    @7debe32e021ac8bc8fe0724b2e32ca26:disqus  I havent experienced a problem like this so consider using someones other Wi-Fi modem and reply ASAP

    If there are still doubts for you remaining uncleared and if anyone have other doubts please reply to us via this post . We will clear it ASAP

  • Gopikrishna
    September 17, 2011 at 7:19 am

    Hows it Going Guys ?
    I am on this reply aiming to solve most of your doubts and query which you have posted below .

    @c8b9889ce2d4962c6eb9add9ebb84118:disqus  On the basis 0f Hardware and uptodate features A70 stands way better than Galaxy POP as A70 includes a 5MP AF Camera , A front facing VGA Camera and lots more . So A70 is way better on features  but PoP is better with samsung’s Customer Care…

  • September 16, 2011 at 11:27 pm

    which is better Micromax A70 or samsung galaxy pop ?? 

  • Anuragrp1988
    September 13, 2011 at 11:19 pm

    I am not able to setup google account.
    whenever i try to connect it says can’t establish a reliable data connection to the server. plzzz help

  • ks
    September 13, 2011 at 8:10 pm

    which sd card should i buy for this phone?

  • Abhinay
    September 13, 2011 at 11:53 am

    hey…
    i saw ur reviews on both GALAXY POP & MICROMAX A70….
    & now i’m confused which one should i buy…
    plz help me decide which one is better in the both in display quality, gaming experince, apps….
    plz suggest me any other mobile if any available within 9k for my requirements….

  • Grin Scorp
    September 10, 2011 at 12:05 pm

    How weak is the wi-fi strength???Does it not cover if the router is beyond the length of 2-3 rooms(typical room size)??? If it is like I need to be present in the same room..I think I dare not go for it…

    Please advice

  • Ash1425
    September 9, 2011 at 4:23 pm

    Hi Bharat,

    Please share more info on gingerbread update.

  • September 7, 2011 at 4:56 pm

    I was able to install SWYPE successfully and am using it.
    Its screen is more smooth than a55Bling for using swype.

    However it took me thrice to install over my 2g vodafone network.

    You may want to try now, the issue may have been fixed.
    I am using version 3.25.91D.31127.t100

  • September 7, 2011 at 4:56 pm

    I was able to install SWYPE successfully and am using it.
    Its screen is more smooth than a55Bling for using swype.

    However it took me thrice to install over my 2g vodafone network.

    You may want to try now, the issue may have been fixed.
    I am using version 3.25.91D.31127.t100

  • m.santhosh nani
    September 5, 2011 at 8:29 pm

    CAN ANY BODY SAY,IS THIS BETTER TO BUY. IS CAMERA WORKING GOOD. PLEASE ANYBODY HELP ME IAM GNG TO BUY IT

  • Rajdip Mondal
    September 3, 2011 at 2:15 pm

    plz show me a video how video calling perfectly working in micromax a70 through fring app…

  • Amjad Pm
    September 2, 2011 at 2:42 am

    does A70 support adobe flash player?

  • PRITAMNATH
    September 1, 2011 at 11:53 pm

    I AM NOT GETTING PC SUITE FOR A70 PLZZ SEND ME LINK

  • Bhk2103
    August 31, 2011 at 9:02 pm

    Is it Upgradable to  2.3 please say YES!

  • saif khan
    August 31, 2011 at 2:53 am

    its worth rs 7650 in lucknow

  • vaibhav
    August 30, 2011 at 12:26 pm

    multitasking possible with micromax a70???

    plz………..help me!

  • ?????? ?????????
    August 30, 2011 at 10:04 am

    I have received my A70 thru flipkart yesterday, surprisingly i am not able to make any call neither able to receive any calls. But i could send & receive sms’s….also able to connect android market and able to surf the net. I tried to change the SIM also but nothing changes, is this a manufacturing fault ? or any setting is required ?

  • SHUBHENDU AWASTHI
    August 29, 2011 at 5:48 pm

    Please tell me if there is ‘ANY’ solution to the wi-fi bug(weak signal strength on phone).
    Second, when will you be posting the gingerbread upgrade for this phone.
    Third, ways to install apps on sd card directly..(have already done rooting and used apps2sd n sdmove,but of no much use).

  • LKS
    August 29, 2011 at 4:25 pm

    Does it support live wallpaper?

  • Vrindavani2004
    August 29, 2011 at 4:12 pm

    Is there any way to make video calls in A-70 with3G connection. If not possible, by upgrading to Android 2.3 will it work ?

  • saif khan
    August 29, 2011 at 1:04 pm

    some sites says its suppor video calling on fring .I have not tested. Yes vikrambarthwal its wifi signal  can cover an area of a room but it cant cover whole house. Thats is why i mentioned its wifi signal is weak 

  • Anurag
    August 29, 2011 at 1:03 pm

    hey anybody who is the owner of this phone can upload some pics taken from it.please upload the full resolution pictures.

  • Shanky0702
    August 29, 2011 at 12:00 pm

    does micromax support vedio calling ????
    on skype or fring or any other wayy  pleasee replllllyyyyy ….

  • saif khan
    August 29, 2011 at 4:43 am

    huy i had bought this set on the basis of igyaan reviews. And believe me freinds i got a good experiance . Battery is good only there is disadvantage of wifi signal. Really weak but worked fine if phone is kept near the modem. According to my experiance its a very good mobile And I will say go for it. Video quality is awesome just go for it…. And lastly  thanks to igyaan for such a good reviews.     

  • Rajdip Mondal
    August 27, 2011 at 2:41 pm

    When will Micromax launch an Android which will have the following features:1. 1Ghz processor.2. 5 mp Camera,3. Vedio calling.4. Above 4inch Amoled Capacitative Touch Screen.5. HD video recorder.6. Best browser: HTML or Chrome lite, whatever it is.7. Above 1400 mAH Battery.8. HDMI port.9. Internal Memory above 1GB.10. 3g, WiFi, Bluetooth, Edge, G-sensor etc. from like other smartphones.11. Document Viewer And Editor also.12. Android OS upgradable.We are waiting for this type of smartphone from MICROMAX.

  • Rajat Mondal
    August 27, 2011 at 11:02 am

    Is video calling possible with front camera in A70. And does the Micromax A70 supports SWYPE keyboard. And if it is up gradable to Android 2.3 or not? Then I will definetly buy this phone.

  • Rahul Ramachandran
    August 27, 2011 at 10:45 am

    @067ca00d8ac6f888c03d5d046a500966:disqus Did you try the Fring app for video calling?please tell me whether they do work .m waiting in buying this phone so that there is sum news on gingerbread and video calling

  • Bnmeher
    August 25, 2011 at 8:04 pm

    Is video calling possible with front camera in A70

  • Vipin
    August 23, 2011 at 9:36 pm

    does a70 consists of a proximity sensor ???

  • Vaibhav Singh
    August 23, 2011 at 4:46 pm

    Sir! Can we compare A70 & HTC Wildfire? n if yes which is better?

  • Teejoree
    August 23, 2011 at 2:39 pm

    Whats the app that was showed in the video which was capable of  streaming Live TV channels ?

  • Rohit
    August 22, 2011 at 11:01 pm

    can u plz tell me what is the max resolution of a video that we can play on a70 and which formats of videos work? it was not mentioned in the review video

  • Ssxc
    August 20, 2011 at 12:33 pm

    First we have to know, if it based on any device that has custom ROM. Till now a port of Android 2.2 rom has not been developed for A60. If this is based on some other device, we could easily have a custom ROM. There seems to be less ROM developers here.

  • Kiran
    August 19, 2011 at 10:11 pm

     Can it make 3g video calls? How is the sound quality?

  • Androboy
    August 19, 2011 at 6:03 pm

    I had Micromax A60 and I listen a lot of Tech Podcast’s and found the sound is too low on it. I just sold it and brought my self Samsung Defy. I hope A70 does a better job on the music department..

  • Rahul Ramachandran
    August 18, 2011 at 10:42 pm

    can we install gingerbread on it,it will be great if yes!!!!

  • Aditya Deva
    August 18, 2011 at 9:10 pm

    Bharat can you pls tell how much RAM is there for Micromax A70

  • Aruneshtherockstar
    August 17, 2011 at 10:22 pm

    hey have u tried any custom rom for 2.3 

  • August 17, 2011 at 6:41 pm

    You can install swype on A70.
    –>Open the URL http://beta.swype.com/android/user/ from your phone.
    –>Login with your user id and pwd.
    –> Download Swype Installer apk. (Use Opera Mini to download)
    –> Run Swype Installer – Choose any of the Swype (English/Chinese / Spanish)
    –> Install it. 
    –> Go to Language & Keyboard -> Select Swype -> Long press on any text field, choose input method -> Select Swype.
    I’ve successfully installed Swype on my friend’s mobile

  • mandeep
    August 17, 2011 at 12:17 pm

    is this mobile good buy because im thinking between nokia c5-03 and the micromax a70
    plus ill be keeping it for next 2 years.so realibility is must for me.

  • samudra22
    August 17, 2011 at 11:32 am

    u can do video call using fring to know more read this…..
    http://androidforums.com/micromax-a70/391710-micromax-a70-video-call.html

  • Sameer Sood
    August 17, 2011 at 8:39 am

    Can you compare it with Alcatel OT-990

Leave a Response