eFIFA World Cup 2018 Announced By FIFA and EA Sports

Now Reading
eFIFA World Cup 2018 Announced By FIFA and EA Sports

Browse This Page
Share via

The term “professional gamer” is still a new phrase people are getting used to and eSports has become more and more successful over the years and is not slowing down any time soon. On the 27th of October, FIFA and EA Sports announced that they intend to replicate one of the world’s greatest athletic events in the world of gaming, introducing FIFA eWorld Cup 2018.

Announcing the tournament, Todd Sitrin, SVP and GM of the Competitive Gaming Division at EA said:

Last year was a pivotal achievement for competitive FIFA, engaging millions of competitors and spectators through world football and global competition. In partnership with FIFA, we’re accelerating the growth of competitive gaming through the EA SPORTS FIFA 18 Global Series on The Road to the FIFA eWorld Cup 2018, producing more competition, attracting more competitors and connecting with more fans than ever before.

From November 2017 to July 2018, there will be a series of qualifying tournaments where players can compete for their spot in the tournament. There also will be official league-qualifying tournaments for existing teams and pro players to win their spot. By the end of the season, FIFA and EA Sports will host 128 teams (64 on PS4 and 64 on Xbox One) from across the globe in the FIFA 18 Global Series Playoffs. From there, the top teams will qualify for the Global Series Tour, the FIFA eWorld Cup Grand Final.

So, how good are you and your friends at FIFA? Head on to the official website to learn more about the competition.

What's your reaction?
I Want This
About The Author
Avatar photo
Vipul Vij
Always found in a Hooded Shell, Excited by technology, tortured by his eating habits. Handles content at iGyaan.